Eye has not Seen

In the book , To Kill a Mockingbird, Atticus Finch says,”You’ll never understand a man ’til you stand in his shoes and look at the world through his eyes.” So true, don’t you think? Each of us have an eye for certain things: Color, art, birds, cars, dogs, cats, decorating, ect.. But do we have the eyes to see those around us as Christ sees them?  I think we walk around with our eyes on so many things we fail to see that which is most beautiful around us, the souls of others. This world captivates us from the beginning with flashy, showy objects. Loud and beautiful pictures of things “We Need, ” “We Want,” or “We deserve.”  We are taught to focus on something for just a short time. 20 second commercials, 10 minute dialogues, and that fleeting by-pass slap in the face to our fellow beings, “Hi, How are you?” Never meaning to get beyond that.
Mark 8:18  Jesus quotes Jeremiah ” Hear this you foolish and senseless people, who have eyes but do not see, who have ears but do not hear.”  Everyone, almost everywhere has heard the saying,”The eyes are the window to the  Soul.” But we ever really stop and look into that window. We don’t open our shades to let the light come in. We draw the blinds down, pull the shades over and close the Windows to our souls. In doing so, we judge those around us as being callous and uncaring, because they fail to see that which is inside of us. We want people to see our souls, feel our pain, and walk in our shoes, and when  they don’t we just judge them as uncaring, but lets reverse this Order. Let’s open up our Windows for people to see our souls, by seeing thru them first. We have Eyes to See, but we aren’t looking at the right thing. We have ears to hear but we aren’t listening to God. The thoughts of our own survival and screams from our own pain drown out those around us.  That’s why Paul wrote,” I pray that the eyes of your understanding be enlightened that you may know.” Ephesians 1:18
I’m here to say, yes “we will never understand a man until we walk in his shoes and see the world thru his eyes.”  It’s not about people seeing thru your eyes as much as you should be looking into theirs. Lets change our vision. Let’s blink, rub the sleep out and focus. Let us see thru GOD’s Eyes, walk in His Shoes…”For the eyes of the Lord move about the Earth Seeking.” “As you have received the Christ, so Walk in Him.” Colossians 2:6  ..” “Let this mind be in you that was in Christ..did not consider Himself.”   So, let us fix our eyes on Jesus, see thru His Eyes, and having His mind,  we will walk as He walked “MOVED with Compassion,” never asking for any, but always giving, seeing the Beauty of the Souls around Him.
What are you seeing? Do you hear their Cries? Have you tasted the Salt in the Tears they Cry?
“Eye Has not Seen.” Isaiah 64:4

8 thoughts on “Eye has not Seen

  1. peggy says:

    Thank you Michael!!!! Love this!!!
    My prayer~let it begin with me! Lord, give me eyes to see, ears to hear and a heart that will listen!

    • m2hinson says:

      I’m so glad you like it. It makes my heart so glad to know that someone thinks and feels like I do. I love expressing this stuff and just wish I could do it more often. The Frustrating part is having someone to listen.

      • peggy says:

        I love to listen!!! So blessed that our Lord is allowing you to express yourself through your writing!!! Keep it up brother!

  2. Anne Sollee says:

    You have a real gift Michael! I love how you express your heart so visually. Please write a book!

  3. m2hinson says:

    I will keep Writing. I have to let it out some way. Maybe some how, some way, people will read and feel the Spirit of God like I do. someone once told me that everyone can’t feel God like I do, and my heart is that they will.

  4. Kathy Hinson Pedersen says:

    Well, we haven’t seen each other in a long while, but as I was reading this piece, I had the feeling that you had secretly stowed away in my heart recently. Thanks for your stories. I have enjoyed reading them and so far each of them speak to me and others as well, I’m sure.

    • m2hinson says:

      You’re too kind. I’m not a professional by any means, I just have thoughts and ideas that I feel I have to express, or I feel apart of me doesn’t live. My true self. So to be true to myself and what is in me I write. But it’s the encouragement of others that follow and read my blogs that I find so inspiring.

Leave a Reply

